An Italian Holiday: Florence, Day 5

Busy start to the year has gotten me a bit off track with posting. So going back to my November Italy trip, Day 5 had me in Florence, an afternoon train to Venice, and a great night in Venice.

I wasn’t sure what to do in my final morning in Florence. I knew I still wanted to get a picture of Florence from Michealangelo’s plaza, but it was just a bit far, and the public transit in Florence was not like that of Rome. So I broke up the walk to the plaza and stopped at the Basilica of Santa Croce on my way. This basilica is also known as Temple of the Italian Glories. Michelangelo, Galileo, Machiavelli, Rossini, and Dante are all buried within.

01-DSC_0636
Basilica of Santa Croce
02-DSC_0639
Basilica of Santa Croce
03-DSC_0642
Interior of Basilica Santa Croce
05-DSC_0648
Dante’s tomb
04-DSC_0647
Michelangelo’s tomb
06-DSC_0650
Main Chapel Alter
07-DSC_0654
Stories of St. Francis by Giotto
08-DSC_0655
Tombs in the floor

Departing the Basilica, I headed across the Arno River to Michelangelo’s Plaza. This is the best place to get a picture of the city. But no one told me it was a hike to get there! It is high above the city, and I got my stairmaster workout in that day. The stairs go on forever!

11-DSC_0672
Stairs leading up to Michelangelo’s Plaza
14-DSC_0684
View of Gardens
17-DSC_0689
Panoramic View of Florence
16-DSC_0688
Panoramic View of Florence
15-DSC_0686
Panoramic View of Florence
19-IMG_2714
Selfie, of course!

It was stunning. I spent a good amount of time just admiring the views of the city. Florence was not really my favorite (Rome was), but I can certainly see my self returning there before moving onto some time in Tuscany.

I made my way back to the B&B, yep back down those stairs. Packed up my stuff, said goodbye to the hostess and it was off to the train station to catch my ride to Venice.

Leave a Reply

