An Italian Holiday: Florence, Day 4

New year, and it’s back to recapping Italy and back to Florence! My 2nd day in Florence started at the Accademia and the magnificent David.

01-DSC_0510
David and the Prisoners
02-DSC_0511
Michelangelo’s David

Stunning, amazing, beautiful, do you hear the choir singing?! Ahhhh!

04-DSC_0517
David
05-DSC_0518
David

Wow!

06-DSC_0520
David
07-DSC_0523
David

Just crazy to think that this started as a slab of marble, and this amazing sculpture is the finished product. Seeing the unfinished Prisoners really made me realize how completely amazing and skilled Michelangelo was. The Sistine Chapel was incredible, but I think David tops it. The detail, which I didn’t capture very well, is just incredible. My pictures definitely don’t do it justice!

09-DSC_0531
One of the prisoners
03-DSC_0512
An unfinished Pieta
08-DSC_0529
Bust of Michelangelo

After the Accademia I headed back to my B&B for a nap, which turned into about a 4 hour sleep. I’d been battling a sore throat, so it was much needed. Afterwards I took on Rick Steve’s Renaissance Walk, which started right outside my B&B, at the Duomo.

15-DSC_0552
The Duomo
13-DSC_0540
Brunelleschi’s Dome
11-DSC_0535
Bell Tower
14-DSC_0550
Baptistery
1-DSC_0558
Ghiberti’s Bronze Doors

Continuing the walk down one of the main streets Via de’ Calzaiuoli, I took a walk around the Orsonmichele church. There are several stautes by the likes of Donatello and Ghiberti on the outside of the church in niches, and the interior is pretty amazing.

1-DSC_0570
Christ and Thomas by Verrochio outside the Orsanmichele
18-DSC_0574
Interior of Orsanmichele

The walk continued on to the Palazzo Vecchio, which is a museum and also the town hall. The day I walked by there were security barriers up and a small crowd gathered with news cameras and photographers. People came out, the people took pictures, and I assume they were famous Italian dignitaries or something.

19-DSC_0580
Famous Italians needing security?! And a David replica!
16-DSC_0563
Strolling down Via de’ Calzaiuoli
17-DSC_0565
Arcone Triumpal Arch on Piazza della Repubblica
1-DSC_0585
Walking under the Uffizi Gallery

The walk continued towards the Ponte Vecchio Bridge.

10-DSC_0596
The Ponte Vecchio
20-DSC_0600
Buildings along the Arno River
21-DSC_0604
View to another bridge from the Ponte Vecchio

On the other side of the river, after crossing the Ponte Vecchio is an area called Oltarno. It was a really neat area, with some cute little shops and more sites. I eventually ended up at the Pitti Palace, which from the outside is not very remarkable. I didn’t go inside, maybe next time!

3-DSC_0616
Pitti Palace

Continuing on my Oltarno walk…

22-DSC_0614
Plenty of scooters
4-DSC_0620
Church in Oltarno
5-DSC_0623
Oltarno

My 2nd night in Florence I took a cooking class, more on that later. On my walk back from the cooking school that night, there were some incredible lights on buildings, getting ready for Christmas!

7-DSC_06326-DSC_0631

 

Leave a Reply

