An Italian Holiday: Rome/Florence, Day 3

Rome

My last day in Rome I had an early appointment at the Borghese Gallery, which is mostly known for its stunning sculptures by Bernini and paintings by Caravaggio, Raphael, and Titian, among others.

02-DSC_0392
Borghese Gallery
Bernini's The Rape of Proserpina
Bernini’s The Rape of Proserpina
Bernini's Apollo and Daphne
Bernini’s Apollo and Daphne
06-DSC_0410
More sculptures
Bernini's David
Bernini’s David
Bernini's David
Another view of Bernini’s David
Battista Della Porta's Giovane Mora con fanciullo e un cane
Battista Della Porta’s Giovane Mora con fanciullo e un cane
Caravaggio's Self-Portrait as Bacchus
Caravaggio’s Self-Portrait as Bacchus
10-DSC_0432
Borghese Gallery

After the gallery, I headed through the Borghese Gardens towards Piazza del Popolo.

01-DSC_0391
Path through Villa Borghese Gardens (and a dog of course!)
11-DSC_0440
Above Piazza del Popolo and towards St. Peter’s
12-DSC_0451
Piazza del Popolo
13-DSC_0453
Piazza del Popolo
15-DSC_0459
Looking down Via del Corso to Piazza del Popolo

Via del Corso is a popular shopping street.

14-DSC_0454
Along Via del Corso

After checking out the high end shopping street of Via Condotti, I headed back towards my hotel, but stopped off first at a shoe store. Big mistake, I couldn’t resist getting some Italian shoes! Some people buy postcards or magnets for souvenirs, I buy shoes (and wine)!

Back at the hotel I realized my train to Florence was leaving 20 minutes earlier than I thought. I had to sprint towards the train station, and fortunately made it on with a few seconds to spare. Next stop: Florence!

Florence

01-IMG_2632
View of the Duomo and Baptistery from my hotel room

The B&B I stayed at was awesome. The room was small, but the price and location were perfect. I highly recommend Soggiorno Battistero.

My first stop after the hotel was the Uffizi Gallery, one of the most well known art galleries in the world. On my way, I passed by the Palazzo Vecchio, the Town Hall.

02-DSC_0460
Palazzo Vecchio

Uffizi Gallery

1-DSC_0464
Giotto’s Madonna in 3-D
03-DSC_0473
Uffizi Gallery – Looking into the Tribune Room
07-DSC_0495
Uffizi Gallery – Art and Statues
05-DSC_0485
Michelangelo’s Holy Family – only completed “easal” painting by him
Botticelli'sSpring
Botticelli’sSpring
06-DSC_0492
Botticelli’s Birth of Venus
2-DSC_0475
View of the Arno, Ponte Vecchio, and the Vasari Corridor from the Uffizi Gallery
09-DSC_0502
View of the Duomo from the Uffizi Gallery

After leaving the Uffizi, I walked back to the hotel, again passing the Palazzo Vecchio and couldn’t resist capturing this image.

08-DSC_0500
Clocktower of Palazzo Vecchio
10-DSC_0504
The Duomo Museum at night

Before I went to dinner, I was in my room and heard some people outside, and someone with a loudspeaker. There was a demonstration out on the Piazza del Duomo. I don’t know what they were saying, but I translated their sign to read “your wars our dead, just wars just born.” I was just a bit freaked, but it appeared to be peaceful and this group continued walking along. Fortunately I was going to dinner in the opposite direction!

4-IMG_2640
Demonstration outside my B&B

I had an amazing dinner at La Giostra, a place recommended by the B&B owner. Funny story though, when I sat down they gave me a wine list, which was stellar, but being by myself I thought I’d get just a glass of wine. Well this place does not serve wine by the glass, I had to order a bottle! The server said if I didn’t finish the bottle, they would put it back in the bottle and cork it for me, so I’m guessing they’re used to single travelers, ha! The wine was superb, and definitely my best meal in Italy. Food only post coming someday!

6-IMG_2649
This restaurant gets 4 stars from me!
5-IMG_2643
WINE!
7-IMG_2663
Selfie time – Happy girl after dinner!
Leave a Reply

