An Italian Holiday: Rome, Day 2 Cont.

I had so many pictures from my 2nd day in Rome that I had to split this day up to share all my pictures!

After the Vatican and lunch, I decided to tackle Capitoline Hill and the sights round there. First stop was the Piazza Venezia and the Victor Emmanuel Monument.

01-DSC_0281
The Victor Emmanuel Monument – Rome’s “newest” monument
03-DSC_0286
Victor Emmanuel Monument
06-DSC_0295
Statue on Victor Emmanuel
05-DSC_0293
View of Piazza Venezia
02-DSC_0285
View to Trajan’s Column
04-DSC_0291
Tomb of the Unknown Soldier
08-DSC_0305
Rome from the Sky Elevator
13-DSC_0319
View of Rome and the Pantheon
12-DSC_0317
Goddess Victoria on a quadrigas
15-DSC_0326
Goddess Victoria – used the silhouette feature on my camera
11-DSC_0311
View of Rome to the Colsseum
10-DSC_0308
View of Rome including Roman Forum
14-DSC_0320
View of Rome including St. Peter’s

After taking in a 360 degree view of Rome (amazing!), I headed to the church of Santa Maria in Aracoeli, which is next to the Victor Emmanuel Monument and adjacent to Piazza del Campidoglio. It’s not much of a sight on the outside, but inside was beautiful. To get to the church, you take the Stairway to Heaven, 124 marble steps.

17-DSC_0339

Stairway to Heaven marble steps

16-DSC_0337
Inside the Santa Maria Aracoeli Church
18-DSC_0342
Michealangelo’s Stairs
19-DSC_0347
Palazzo Senatorio
20-DSC_0354
Roman Forum from Capitoline Hill
21-DSC_0362
So many birds in Rome

Across the street from the Roman Forum are the Imperial Forums, such as Trajan’s Forum, Caesar’s Forum, Augustus, etc. Just a bunch of ruins.

22-DSC_0365
The Forum of Trajan
23-DSC_0371
Setting sun over Rome

After the Imperial Forums, I headed out for a glass of wine on Campo de’Fiori. I really loved just relaxing with wine on a campo or piazza at the end of my sightseeing days.

30-IMG_2591

After the wine, I went for more wine and some food at Roscioli, a well known restaurant near Campo de’Fiori. I had signed up for a wine and dine event, which included 8 wines and 8 food courses. It was amazing! And also my first real interaction with Americans since getting to Rome! All 12 of us were from the U.S., and had a really great time. And of course I had a few bottles shipped to me.

27-DSC_0388
At Rimessa Roscioli, their wine tasting room
24-DSC_0384
I couldn’t get all the wine in the picture
25-DSC_0386
Wine, wine, and more wine
26-DSC_0387
More wine
28-DSC_0389
Our sommelier Christian

Just a few pictures of the food. They served us 2 types of mozzarella, fresh burrata, and fresh buffalo mozzarella. I liked the buffalo one better. The proscioutto and parmesan was amazing. Our main course was the rigatoni, which was excellent. And dessert was tiramisu, which I usually don’t like due to the coffee flavor, but this one was very light on the coffee.

That’s it for Day 2. It was a very long day but so worth it, especially to top it off with a great wine and dine experience and new friends!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

