An Italian Holiday: Rome, Day 1

Italia

A few years ago I had written down about 25 different places I wanted to visit, put them all in a bucket, and then drew one. Italy it was, and while I had intended to visit way before this year, it just never happened. But fast forward to September 2015 when an e-mail from TravelZoo advertised flights to Rome for cheaper than it was to get to San Diego for Christmas. Out came the credit card, a quick e-mail to the boss to get the days off, and before I could talk myself out of it, I had bought a plane ticket to Rome. One of the best purchases I’ve ever made!

I took over 1,200 pictures while in Rome, Florence, Venice, and Istanbul, and thought this would be a good place for friends and family to relive my trip with me via pictures. Enjoy!

Roma

The following pictures are from my first day in Rome. My hotel, the Hotel Opera, was within a mile of the major sights so I was able to walk to get the sightseeing started. I joined an English-speaking tour group for the Colosseum, Palatine Hill, and the Roman Forum.

22-IMG_2511
The first of many stairs during my trip!
02-DSC_0006
This was my first “view” of the ruins.
01-DSC_0008
First view of the Colosseum
23-IMG_2512
Requisite selfie
03-DSC_0012
Colosseum
24-IMG_2514
My tour guide, Giorgio
05-DSC_0017
Entering the Colosseum
06-DSC_0022
Entering the Colosseum
10-DSC_0036
So much history
08-DSC_0031
On the 2nd level
07-DSC_0023
Was there a bad spot in this place?
11-DSC_0046
The cross
12-DSC_0049
Outside
13-DSC_0050
Outside with a view to the Roman Forum, Arch of Constantine is to the left
15-DSC_0055
View of the Roman Forum from Palatine Hill
17-DSC_0057
View of the Roman Forum from Palatine Hill
21-DSC_0071
Seagull just hanging out
16-DSC_0056
View of the Roman Forum from Palatine Hill
20-DSC_0068
View of the Roman Forum from Palatine Hill
18-DSC_0063
View of the Roman Forum from Palatine Hill
1-IMG_2530
Arch in the Roman Forum

After the tour, I was starving and went to lunch near the Imperial Forums at a place recommended in the Rick Steve’s Rome Travel Guide. It was called Taverna Dei Fori Imperiali and was excellent for my first true meal in Rome. The food in Italy deserves it’s own post, so that will be coming in time!

2-IMG_2537
Love the Roman streets! Walking away from my lunch place.

After lunch I headed back to the hotel for a little nap. For the afternoon and evening I had planned to follow Rick Steve’s Heart of Rome walking tour, which would take me to a couple of famous campos and piazzas, then the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, and the Spanish Steps. The monuments are so stunning at night. (The Spanish Steps are undergoing renovations so I did not get any pictures here.)

1-DSC_0085
Piazza Navona
8-IMG_2547
A rainy night and a glass of wine on the Piazza Navona
2-DSC_0101
The Pantheon
3-DSC_0107
Pantheon ceiling
4-DSC_0124
The Pantheon
5-DSC_0126
Looking out from the Pantheon
6-DSC_0132
Trevi Fountain – Of course I tossed a coin in the fountain! I will be going back to Rome!

After the walk, I headed for dinner, and I cannot recall the name right now! It was excellent, of course. And then I called it a night. An early tour of the Vatican Museum and St. Peter’s Basilica were on tap for the next day.

Leave a Reply

